Hey! I Happen to Like Paula Deen!

But according to Serious Eats, she is trying to kill us. 

And here is the recipe that is going to do it.

Now, I like to think I know a little bit about Southern cuisine – having lived in the South my entire adult life – but I had never heard of this concotion until now.

Mmmmm....butter....

“These balls are a little bite of Heaven. I took the liberty of altering the recipe a bit — typically I increase the butter up to four or five sticks and don’t bother with the cream cheese (I am trying to eat healthier. When they’re done, I drip melted butter over the top as well –…” 

Apparently, this mixture of cream cheese and butter does have its devotees, like the health-food nut (a reviewer) I quoted above.

I am fairly certain I will not be joining their ranks.

Why?

Well, I prefer to clog my arteries the old-fashioned way – with foods that don’t cause  a gag reflex.

Posted on August 4, 2011, in Random Crap, What the flippity-flop? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Ugh. I think my cholesterol went up just reading the recipe.

    • I know right, and I damn-near spewed water all over my monitor when I read the reviewer talking about “eating healthier”.

      I guess, in a world filled with fried butter, it’s the small things that make a difference.

  2. Addicted Reader

    Seriously?

  3. I think my future cardiologist just had a heart attack.

  4. I’ve had fried cheesecake dipped in raspberry sauce and could only eat a few bites, despite how yummy it was, because I could TASTE the calories.

    Fried butter? No way!

Whaddayouthink?

