There Be Pirates Here!

I love festivals.

I love small towns.

So, it stands to reason that I love small town festivals.

And this one was, for the first couple of years, and now…hoo boy…it has gotten extremely popular.

It’s called Pirate Days of Texas and is held every October.  Usually, it’s not elebenty-billion degrees outside when the festival is going on.

This year, it was every bit that and possibly more.  I don’t care that the thermometer read 85, it felt like elebenty-billion..especially to someone who had a sunburn from spending many hours on the water the day before and was now spending many hours walking around the festival hunting for patches of shade.

So, anyway…my bitching about the heat aside…this festival is all kinds of awesomesauce.

And I have the pictures to prove it.

After you paid your $8, you were greeted by a wooden pirate…or possibly by a roasted pirate, coulda been either.

This is one of only a handful of replica pirate ships.  I wanted to go inside, but it was painted BLACK and like I said, it was elebenty-billion degrees that day.

This pirate was either demonstrating the correct use of a mortar and pestle or I snapped this shot just as he was about to pass out from the heat.  Yeah, that was probably it.

This pirate was really miffed that no one recognized him in the “Wanted” posters that everyone was getting.  I think it was the parrot disguise..or the fact that it was so hot no one was interested in arresting anyone, unless it meant you could ride to the prison in an air-conditioned wagon.

This is Izzy and her friend, the Disappointed Pirate.  Later, I saw Izzy on her perch in a tent and every time the wind blew she would toss her head back and close her eyes…really cute girl.

 

The interior of a tent in the replica pirate encampment.  I didn’t go all the way inside.  There was, literally, no air in there.

 

 

I burned my hand touching the leather hat in the middle – top row – I shit you not.

 

A display of brass and glass steampunk goggles.  Apparently, I didn’t think that brass and/or glass get hot in the sun so this is the second place I burned my hand.  I iz smart…but I’m blaming it all on the heat having turned my brain to gruel at this point.

I didn’t take a picture of the library booth – mostly because it was really lacking in creativity – but I did chat with a very enthusiastic librarian about the availability of eBooks for loan..total squee to this Kindle owner’s ears.

I also met a very sweet couple of aging hippies selling tie-dyed t-shirts and peace symbol jewelry.  They travel all over selling their wares every weekend.

There were also two stages set up with Celtic bands, reenactments of pirate swordfights and a cannon that was shot every hour.

Not to mention the food! Awesome turkey legs, funnel cakes and nachos…you know, typical pirate fare.

It really is a fun festival and I will go again next year.  I’ve been every year since its inception…I just hope it’s more like autumn and less like summer next time.

 

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Posts, Random Crap and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Whaddayouthink?

