Sometimes You Meet the Most Interesting People…

…in the most unlikely of places…

I live in N. Texas.

I was raised in St. Louis.

I love baseball. Specifically, Cardinal baseball.

Last week was…umm…interesting, to say the least.

For those of you cave-dwellers who don’t know what I’m talking about; the Texas Rangers and St. Louis Cardinals played a little baseball last week.  Something called the World Series.

When you read this, we will know who won…but as I write this the deciding game is still hours away.

So this morning I had to go to both my local copy shop and craft store for work-related errands.  I’m wearing a bright red Cardinals baseball t-shirt.

The looks I got!  Wow, you’d think I was wearing an “I Heart Hitler” shirt or something the way some people viewed me with such disdain.

I was kinda getting a little annoyed at these bandwagon Ranger fans.  I mean, hell I’ve been a Cardinal fan almost since birth and we’ve already established that was a long, long time ago.

Anyway, the one bright spot was the kindly gentleman at the craft shop who helped me pick out framing for an item.

He jokingly told me it would take six weeks to get my picture back after ribbing me for being a Cardinal fan.  When I told him the picture was actually for my boss who is a Ranger fan, he said it would only take two weeks.

The funniest exchange, though, was not between he and I.  It happened as I was leaving the counter.  Up walked two young men, one wearing a Cubs shirt and the other a Boston Red Sox sweater.

Rangers fan behind the counter threw his hands up in the air and said, quite loudly, “Cubs? Sox?  Over there we’ve got a Cardinal just leaving! What is this, an invasion?  I’m tellin’ ya, this is RANGER country, boys!”

It was even funnier because the two guys walking up to the counter had not been part of our good-natured jesting, so they were completely confused by his reaction.

“Dude, all I wanted was this..”, the Cubs fan said as he handed a small tube to the Rangers fan, “that’s all…I don’t want no trouble.”

I had to hustle on out of there as I was trying to stifle a hearty guffaw.

To whichever team won, congratulations…unless it’s the Rangers and then I salute you.

Whaddayamean I’m a “sore loser”?  Huh? Huh?

 

Posted on October 31, 2011, in Guess You Had to Be There, Maybe I'm The Only One Who Thinks This Is Funny, Random Crap and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Whaddayouthink?

