It Was a Trip, Fall and Crash…

 …down memory lane Sunday.

We have to replace our heating/cooling system. Since we live in Texas and have no basement our air handler is in the attic. We had to clean a portion of the attic Sunday in order to make room for the crew to come in and do the work today.

We threw away 387 empty boxes.

Okay, I may be exaggerating a wee bit. But, it was definitely over 300 empty boxes that got tossed in the trash.

Who needs that many empty boxes? No one, that’s who.

Among the other boxes, the not empty ones, was a box filled with tiny dresses from my daughters’ childhoods.

Apparently I didn’t save anything from the boys. I know why. They tore their stuff up. Sometimes literally.

So, there I sat amidst piles of trash staring at tiny rosettes, lace, velvet and bows. I smiled and I cried, sometimes at the same time, as I took each little dress out and held it close to me.

I remembered Christmases, Easters and birthday celebrations with my girls dressed up like little princesses twirling around the room.

“Am I pretty?” they’d ask.

No, my darlings.

Then as now, you are beautiful.

Inside and out.

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Awesomesauce, In All Seriousness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It is both bitter and sweet to find objects from our past!

  2. Are they really empty? Don’t think so……..

    I took an ordinary box
    As empty as can be
    I filled it with a special gift
    And wrapped it carefully.

    But please don’t ever open it
    Just leave the ribbon tied
    And hold it tightly near your heart
    Because my love for you’s inside!

Whaddayouthink?

