Imma Come Out And Say It

I’m phone stoopid.

No, really I am.

Oh I can figure out all the fancy doo-dads on my iPhone, no problem.

Most of the doo-dads, anyway.

Where I utterly, completely and totally fail is in the ringtone department.

Here’s the scenario:

I choose a song, or sound effect, as my ringtone.  Usually, this is accomplished after scrolling through the availables or even paying for a favorite song, and then setting it up to activate with every call.

So, someone calls me and my ringtone goes off.

And I look up, look around, and sometimes even ask others in the room “Do you hear that? What is it?”  Or, “Where is that music coming from?”

And I do this, every single time. I never make that permanent connection.

Never.

I missed a helluvalot of calls that way, too.

The solution?  I changed my ringtone to “Old Time Phone”, so it sounds like one of those old-style mechanical ringers in those big, heavy, black phones you see in movies of the 30’s and 40’s.

Which brings me to my other problem.

I watch a lot of old movies and now every time a phone rings in one of those movies I grab my iPhone.

I give up.

Posted on April 18, 2012, in Maybe I'm The Only One Who Thinks This Is Funny and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. The future is scary. I’m going to crawl under the blankets and pretend it’s not here and it’s not coming. I want a party line with a rotary phone. That just sounds more fun, doesn’t it?!

    • Yes, especially if you perfect the art of picking up your handset and then listening in to the other party’s conversation…umm…not that I would or have.

      And, I downloaded an app for my iPhone called “Rotary Dialer”…it is awesome.

  2. I’ve got the old time ringer too for most calls. But I also assigned dedicated rings to certain people. My youngest daughter is a baby laughing (even though she’s 27!) and my Hubs is Little Red Riding Hood. I LOVE technology! I usually miss calls because I can’t get the blasted phone out before the call goes to voicemail, dang it.

  3. Thank you for writing about this. It makes me feel slightly less stupid. I do the exact same thing. Except I am far too technically challenged to have an iphone. I can barely answer my husband’s.

Whaddayouthink?

