Time For A Shout Out

First, let me say I am not a paid spokesperson.

I’m also not an armadillo, you know… just in case…

I’ve been bitching about the US Postal Service a lot lately, so in the interest of fair and balanced reporting I thought it high time I give a shout out to my favorite hotel chain.

Ever hear of Drury Inn and Suites?

Let me tell you that from experience these are hands down the cleanest, most well-appointed, hotels I’ve ever seen.  And, they are beautiful to look at and reasonably priced – how’s an average of $119/night sound?  We stayed at three Drury’s during the Epic Road Trip of 2012, and consistency was a mainstay.

My oldest daughter, an absolute cleanliness-nazi, had told us about the Drury’s she and her family stayed in last summer.  She was so impressed with the staff, the rooms, and most of all the free stuff.

They give away free alcohol.

Free. Alcohol.

Oh yes, there’s free food as well.  Twice a day, for breakfast and dinner, they have a real buffet.   Eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage and homemade waffles for breakfast are paired with cereal (hot or cold), fruit, yogurt, and various pastries and donuts.  For dinner, the menu rotates but at one point you will sample pasta with meatballs, a baked potato bar, soup, nachos, hot dogs and chicken nuggets. 

Now, back to the alcohol.

When you check in you get a card that entitles you to three free drinks at their full service bar every night of your stay.  Even the beer is draught.  The only thing they don’t offer is call liquor, but when it’s free who cares?

If I were a drinker…..as it is I’m not really, but did have a glass of wine the one night we ate dinner there.  And, then promptly fell asleep the minute we got back to the room.  Like I said, not much of a drinker.

So, if you’re keeping score…you get breakfast, dinner, alcohol, and I swear-you-could-eat-off-the-floor clean rooms for about $119/night at any Drury in the country. 

This is a franchise that knows what it’s doing.   Maybe I could get the Drury CEO to call the Postmaster General…….

 

Posted on July 19, 2012, in Awesomesauce, In All Seriousness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sounds fabulous! I’ll have to look them up. What may I ask is “call liquor”?

  2. Wait… Jack Daniels is Bourbon?! I thought it was just “Tennessee Whiskey”. Egad!

  3. Again with the helpful hints! I am taking notes furiously and filing them away in my trip file for future use. Many thanks!

Whaddayouthink?

