Weebles Wobble, Right?

The definition of “road trip” includes a good deal of time viewing the world through a windshield.

Amiright?

So, during the Epic Road Trip of 2012 we did just that covering some 2600 miles in the process.

We missed a couple of things, but we did get creeped out in Arkansas, crossed off one of hubby’s bucket list items, got some laughs at the snooty’s expense, and spent some quality time with baffling coffee dispensers and stale donuts.

One more thing we were witness to was a Weeble car.

Remember Weebles?

Wobbling Weebles wobble weebly. Also, the drive wobbly cars.

Remember how they wobble, but don’t fall down?

Yeah, pretty sure we saw a weeble-car on the highway somewhere near Birmingham, Alabama one night about 11:00. 

This beater of a car was in the left lane and ahead of us a short distance.  He changed lanes and was now in front of us in the right lane.  His car moved over, then wobbled…a LOT…for a LONG time.

He accelerated, and when he did the wobbling got more pronounced. 

He changed lanes again and the wobbling got to the point where it really looked like the tires on either side of the car were leaving the pavement with each successive wobble.

I turned to hubby, “What is wrong with that car?”

“Nothing,” he replied, “I’m pretty sure that guy is drunk.”

“No wa-” I said, but then I looked.

The weeble-car was being driven by a weeble-driver with the distinctive Weeble wobble to his entire body going on.

“I think I should call the Highway Patrol, don’t you?” I asked.

“Yes” said hubby as he skillfully managed to keep a safe distance between us and the Weeble; which was difficult given the driver’s erratic speeds and constant lane changing.

I looked down to rummage through my bag for my phone and when I looked up the weeble-car was gone.

“Wha-?”

“He exited back there.” hubby said, the relief in his voice obvious.

“Damn. I didn’t get the car’s make or the license plate or anything.”  I said, worried now for all the other drivers in the weeble-car’s path on the farm road he’d just turned on to.

I don’t know what happened to that guy, but I do know that as far as I could tell the ads were true – Weebles Wobble, But They Don’t Fall Down.

Posted on July 26, 2012, in In All Seriousness, What the flippity-flop? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Whaddayouthink?

