George P. Elwood Bailey Dodd

Sometimes my poor hubby gets tired of my taking the long way ‘round the fencepost telling a story.

This is especially true when he’s focused on something else….like what time the game (any game) starts.

It’s not my fault, then, when these types of conversations happen at Wal-Mart.

Me:  I need to get some French bread while we’re here.

Hubby: We don’t have time to be shopping for…

Me: I’m not *shopping* for bread, see it’s right here.

Hubby: (looking at the bread) What’s that for?

Me: We’re going to baby girl’s house on Sunday for dinner.

Hubby: And she asked you to bring bread?

Me: No, I’m bringing salad.

Hubby: Then why the bread?

Me:  They just moved into their house, and you know how much son-in-law likes that movie “It’s A Wonderful Life”?

Hubby: Yeah, but what’s that got to do with bread?

Me: In the movie, Jimmy Stewart…

Hubby: So we’re buying bread because of Jimmy Stewart?

Me: (stopping in the aisle to stare at him and marvel at how I ever get a point across some days) Yes, yes..that’s it.  I blame Jimmy Stewart.

So for the rest of you…

In the movie, Jimmy Stewart’s character – I can never remember his name, and always want to call him Elwood, but then I remember that’s from “Harvey” – anyway, his character loans money for a house to an Italian family and on the day they move in Jimmy’s wife – Mary, I think – takes a loaf of bread and a box of salt to the new homeowners and says something like, “Bread, that your home never knows hunger and salt that your life has flavor.”   So, I wanted to replicate that scene when we visited baby girl and her family for the first time since they moved into their new house.

And, I did and hubby finally understood why we bought bread that day.

Hubby: Oh, I get it! Why didn’t you just say it was a scene from that movie?

Me:  Harvey told me not to spill the beans…and he was buying.

Hubby stared at me for a while before muttering something – pretty sure the word “crazy” was in there – and walking outside.

 

p.s. George…his name was George Bailey.

Posted on August 21, 2012, in Awesomesauce, Guess You Had to Be There, Maybe I'm The Only One Who Thinks This Is Funny, Random Crap, Things That Annoy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Haven’t met him, but I like your husband a lot. We;re a lot alike. That’s about how the conversation would have gone between me and my wife. 😀

  2. So when I buy bread I should blame Jimmy Stewart. Got it. Check. Always looking for a good scapegoat for when I am spending money.

Whaddayouthink?

