You Know How There Are Times When You Wish You Hadn’t Overheard Something?

Like a doctor talking to a colleague and asking, “Do you know any good malpractice lawyers?” right before your exam?

Or the mechanic that doesn’t know you’re standing right behind him telling his coworker that “This woman doesn’t know a fan belt from a garter belt.  Beer is on me for the rest of the month!” in reference to your (now overpriced) car repair?

Not that I’ve overheard either of these.

Probably.

But, I did overhear this coming from the plumber working on the tub in the next room at my house on Friday:

“Hmmm”

“Huh..that’s odd”

“Well…that is not good.  That’s not good at all.”

I hear these, and the distinct sounds of ‘cha-ching’ that inevitably follow.  

After what seemed like 47 trips to his truck for ever-larger and menacing-looking tools, it appeared he had fixed the problem.   He tested the new valve, we tested the new valve.

There was much rejoicing as the only tub in the house was now fully functional and I had visions of bubble baths dancing in my head.

He went to “write up a ticket” as hubby and I speculated on the cost.

Hubby: “Probably no more than $200”

Me: “You didn’t hear all his commentary about how ‘odd’ and difficult the job was.”

Hubby: “So, what do you think?”

Me: “$300, easy”

Hubby: “I hope not.”

The plumber came back in the house and announced, “That’s gonna be $190 today.”

Awesome.

But, I’m still leaving if I ever hear my doctor asking about malpractice insurance right before my exam.   I don’t care how cheap the office visit might be.

 

Posted on February 5, 2013, in Awesomesauce, Guess You Had to Be There and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. At a restaurant coming from a cook to a waitress:

    “Have you seen my band-aid?”

  2. Ack! Bleh! Argh! Gag!

  3. When I was 6, I had a fairly difficult and complicated procedure done on one of my ears.

    The doctor was a renowned one, and she’d helped with my previous operations, and we liked her a lot. She went through the procedure in thorough (but understandable) detail, drawing out on a whiteboard what she was going to do, and spending over an hour talking to my parents about the probable outcome and healing process.

    The day of the surgery arrived. Dr. Heatley and her team say “bye” to my parents and wheel me into the operating room.

    Three hours later, she comes back out, all excited, and says “I taught my students a new technique on your daughter’s head!”

    “uhhhh…”

    Turns out she decided to throw a proven technique out the window and “improvise”. Yeah. It went over about as well as you’d expect.

    Luckily the procedure worked fine (and was filmed for future ENT residents to learn from). But it was the last thing my parents wanted to hear, aside from “your daughter somehow died” or “We can’t find your child, she disappeared from the OR”.

Whaddayouthink?

