Oooh…It Hurts….Everywhere

I have fibromyalgia.

I was diagnosed in 2006, when I came down with mononucleosis.  Most adults in the U.S. (up to 90%) get mono as infants or toddlers, and in those cases it’s most generally a-symptomatic.

I guess I missed the mono bus when I was little, and it took one of my grandchildren to introduce me to it.  That infection triggered the fibro.  That was the doctor’s first clue, as fibro is most often triggered by something…a car accident, extreme stress, an illness, etc.

I still love that grandbaby, by the way. 

Fibro has been baffling doctors and patients for years.   When first diagnosed, I did what everyone does these days.  I asked Uncle Google about it.

What I got from my search was an overwhelming, baffling, contradicting, frustrating flood of information.  At that time, much of it pointed to fibro being “all in your head”.

I closed the browser, and didn’t go back to research anything on fibro until last week when my mother said she had been diagnosed with it and could I point her in the direction of a good website or two for information on it.

I  typed “fibromyalgia” in Uncle Google’s search box, grit my teeth, and hit the ‘Enter’ key on my keyboard.

I got a flood of information, only this time it was different.  It was good, it was sound, it was medical and anecdotal from doctors and patients. 

It seems fibro done gots some street cred in the last few years, bitches.

As I looked for a simple, straightforward type of website for Mom – she’s elderly and navigating the web to her is like me trying to circle the globe, on a raft, with only a sextant to guide me, and I don’t even know what a ‘sextant’ is – I found several wonderful sites devoted to those of us who suffer from fibro.

As I read some of the information, my jaw literally dropped open.

TMJ with no cause? Explained.

Nausea with no reason? Explained.

Extreme pain all over after exertion? Explained.

The list went on and on, and all the things I’ve dealt with over the years were explained one by one. 

I’m not crazy, it’s fibromyalgia.

I knew about the intense pain.  Hell, you can’t touch me without my reacting painfully.  A hug from a grandbaby can make me wince, for goodness sakes!  It’s odd, though…I can take a soothing stroke, but to push with a finger (or several little chubby fingers) on me is quite painful.

I know many of you deal with fibro, too.   I know you think you’re going insane some days, when you’ve left your keys in the fridge – not that I’ve ever done something like that…just sayin’…ahem…  Or how about when you do something simple, like this morning when I dropped an envelope in the mail, then spent five minutes looking for it later on? 

You’re not crazy, you have fibro fog…and yes, it’s real.

If you’re nodding your head over there on your side of the glowy box, then you know what I’m talking about.

And if you’re suddenly realizing that your symptoms sound a lot like mine, and no one has been able to figure it out, you’re not crazy…it’s real.

Whichever camp you fall into, don’t stop searching for help and relief until you find the right doctors and therapies that work for you.

This is a real syndrome, and it has real symptoms, and it can be life-altering, but it doesn’t have to be life-ending.  You can function, you can feel better.

First stop if you haven’t been diagnosed and you suspect you have fibro is here.

After diagnosis, this is a good website to visit for suggestions and support.

There are many other sites, some devoted to what I call ‘voo-doo’ medicine.  Listen, kids, if it sounds too good to be true…it is.  Conventional therapies, and your own instincts, are your best weapons in this fight.

Good luck, God Bless, and very gentle hugs to you.

Posted on July 1, 2013, in In All Seriousness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. If you don’t find the healing relief that you are looking for, you might consider looking for an energy worker. I have one friend who has done some distance healing work on fibromyalgia sufferers. It’s helpful to think outside the box as well as do all the research you can.

Whaddayouthink?

