Because Even the Most Mundane Isn’t

I can never go anywhere, or do anything, without it turning into an adventure; a story to hand down across the generations.

I just wanted to get my teeth cleaned.

Call me strange, but I like getting my teeth cleaned.

They always feel so….well…clean when the hygienist is done.  And fresh.

So the other day I went for my semi-annual cleaning.

I was the only one in the place, and the sweet young lady who was going to clean my teeth and I chatted a little while before she started.

There’s a sequence of events to getting one’s teeth cleaned.

It’s routine, rote, the same every time.

Except when it isn’t.

The first tool used is something like a fine Dremel tip to scrape the crud off the surface of the tooth.

During this operation, the tip slipped and got stuck between my two front bottom teeth.

At first, no one panicked.

Then I looked up at the hygienist’s eyes, and got more than a little concerned by the look in them.

“I can get this.”, she said reassuringly. “Really, I can.  I..can..do..this.”

She said all this as she was standing up, hunched over my mouth, pushing and pulling and hurting.

And because of the huge drill bit stuck in my teeth I couldn’t say anything.

After an hour..okay, probably a minute, but it felt like an hour – she finally dislodged the bit from my teeth.

I felt around with my tongue, relieved to not find a chip.

It still hurt for a while, and after she was all done she shook her head and muttered, “Never had that happen before.”

Of course not.  I am, after all, me.

 

Posted on August 13, 2013, in Owiee!!, What the flippity-flop? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow. You do live an adventurous life don’t you? Glad it worked out okay!

Whaddayouthink?

