On the Awesomesauce of Magic

The call from my oldest daughter, K,  regarding her oldest daughter, B,  (my oldest granddaughter – she’s 8) went like this:

K: Mom?  I have a question to ask you.

ME: Okay.

K: Some of B’s classmates are telling her that the characters in movies like “Frozen” and the fairies in “Tinkerbell” aren’t real.   She asked me if that was true, and I stumbled. I didn’t know what to say.

ME: So what did you say?

K: I asked her what she thought.

(ugh…I hate that answer..always have always will…it ranks right up there with, “because I said so” and is about as useful..but I didn’t tell K this)

ME: And?

K: She just shrugged. What would you have told her?

what would I have said…a million things about magic and belief and I’d of gone on and on, just like I did when K asked me these questions a thousand years ago…

ME: I would have said of course those people are real.

K: How do you explain that, when we know they are not real.

ME: Do we?

K: What?

ME: Do we know, without a doubt, that fairies that help little boys and princesses that freeze things are not real?

K: Ummm….

ME: Exactly my point.  We choose not to believe, and when we do that I think we lose a little bit of the magic in our souls.

K: Oh, mom…this is why I call you.

ME: *chuckling*

K: I’m going to have B call you, okay?

ME: Okay.

Later that afternoon, my phone rings…

ME: Hello.

B: Hi Grammy.

ME: Hi B, how are you?

B: Fine. Umm, Grammy are Elsa and Anna real?

(my mind races…”Elsa?”…”Anna?”…before I realize they must be the princesses in “Frozen”)

ME: Yes.

B: Oh…how do you know?

ME: B, the characters in the movies aren’t the ‘real’ fairies, or princesses or what have you.  Do you think every ‘Santa’ you see in a movie is the real Santa? Of course not.  The real Santa, and the real fairies and princesses are far too busy with important things to take time to make a movie.

B: Then who is in the movie?

ME: The movies are based on these people, but played by actors who spend time with them and study them so they can be realistic. 

B: Okay…thanks, bye!

Just like that, the conversation was over and a little bit of magic was restored to a tender soul still wanting to believe. 

And, who knows, maybe that little bit of magic spread to an old soul, making her feel the awesomesauce of it all once again.

Posted on January 22, 2014, in Awesomesauce, Grandchildren and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. How thoughtful of you. When I got that question from mine, I just busted their bubbles by answering “no”. Did the same for Santa also 😦

  2. awww..that’s adorable!

  3. What a wonderful way to explain it! I’ve used that sort or reasoning about Santa before, usually about the Salvation Army Santas. I like the idea of extending that to all magical creatures! Thanks for helping this “old soul” to a renewed belief in magic!

Whaddayouthink?

