The Universe Hates Me

On Saturday the flat of herbs, onions, and garlic that I optimistically bought in early March, thinking I actually lived in Texas and not in Minnesota only to find out that I did, indeed, live in Minnesota this year although it looks just like Texas and I don’t recall moving, but anything is possible.

Anyway, where was I?

Oh, right…Saturday I finally got to plant my kitchen garden in my little 6X4 raised bed that hubby built for me a few years ago and our new dog had decided made the perfect place to create a hole to snuggle down into, completely ignoring her expensive dog house with the fluffy bedding inside, creating craters here and there that I then had to redistribute the dirt over and smooth flat before planting.

Once that was all done, and all the herbs, onions, and garlic was planted I added a garden fencing material that looked substantial in the picture and advertisement, but turned out to be about as stout as a bath mat, but it was all I had and I wanted to keep the dog out of it so I put it up around the garden and hubby helped prop/anchor it in place.

Anyhoo – after three hours of digging, raking, planting, watering, and fence-ing I was tired and sore and a little sunburned, but I had a lovely little kitchen garden in the making.

On Sunday, I could barely move and I had a migraine. The pain was intense, because all my fun had triggered a severe fibro flare.

Apparently, this was the universe’s way of thanking me for going green or something.

And, today, the wind is blowing at about elebenty-hunnert miles an hour so when I get home I expect the fencing to have blown away from the garden to become a giant chew toy for the dog, she will have redistributed plants and dirt and reclaimed the bed, and I will attempt to salvage what’s left of my herbs, onions, and garlic.

Tomorrow, I’ll have another severe fibro flare and will have to work ten hours.

Well played, universe.

Well played indeed.

Posted on April 1, 2014, in Fun With Fibromyalgia, Who Cares? and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh no! I’m sorry you’re suffering; I hope you’re wrong about your fence, dog, plants and that everything is in order when you arrive home. Take care of yourself, much positive juju is aimed your way, along with prayers, etc.

  2. Sometimes the universe is a jerk–even to nice people who just want to grow a few herbs and get through a week without a flareup. Stupid universe.

  3. *thumbing nose at universe*

    The dog left everything alone, and the wind didn’t rip my fencing apart.

    Suck it, universe!

Whaddayouthink?

