Oh My God, MOM!!

“…I just had the most TERRIFYING experience of my ENTIRE LIFE!!”

This is not how you want to start a conversation, any conversation, with one of your grown children.

Unfortunately, you don’t always get to choose how these things go. In fact, let me just say that you never get to choose how these random phone calls go.

And now, the rest of the story…

ME: WHERE ARE YOU???

BABY GIRL: Everything is fine….now

ME: What happened?

BABY GIRL: I locked Cutie-Pie in the car!

(It’s in the 80’s here, and the interior of a car gets really hot..really fecking fast)

ME: What??!!

BABY GIRL: I was leaving Crossfit, and I put her in her car seat and then laid the keys on the driver’s seat, and then put the backpack on the seat, and I don’t know…

(she starts crying)

ME: Is Cutie-Pie okay?

BABY GIRL: Yes, she’s fine.

ME: How long was she in there?

BABY GIRL: Ten minutes! Ten minutes, Mom!

ME: So tell me the rest.

BABY GIRL: Well, after I realized what I’d done, I ran to get “K” (K is her older sister and they Crossfit together), and then when we couldn’t find an open door we ran across the street to the Police station that happens to be there – thank God! – and they called the fire department.

ME: And how did the firemen get inside?

BABY GIRL: They took this thing that looks like a tire pump or something and put it in the door frame and pumped it up, then took a wire thing and popped the lock.  It didn’t damage the mini-van at all.

ME: Luckily…but you can replace a vehicle.

BABY GIRL: I know…

(she starts crying again)

ME: And how was Cutie-Pie?

BABY GIRL: Very hot and sweaty, but she was just grinning at everyone.  Probably wondered what all the fuss was about.

ME: Did the firemen check her over?

BABY GIRL: You know, Mom, I didn’t even let them.  The minute the door was unlocked I slammed it open and grabbed her and hugged her and she kept saying, “You okay, Mommy?”

ME: Awwwwwww…so sweet.  And she’s okay now.

BABY GIRL: Yes, now…but I’m still shaking.

ME: I can imagine, but remember some things.  You didn’t panic.  You acted fast, you knew what to do, you kept your head and Cutie-Pie is fine.

BABY GIRL: You’re right..you’re right.

ME: And what have we learned?

BABY GIRL: NEVER put the keys ANYWHERE, except in my bra.

ME: Ummm…ooohhkay.

And that was my Wednesday.

How was yours?

Posted on April 24, 2014, in In All Seriousness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “NEVER put the keys ANYWHERE, except in my bra”?

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! For many of the women I know that would be a big mistake because it would simply fall 😀

    Correct rule is always lock the car doors with the keys.

  2. I’m soooo glad Cutie Pie is okay! And this is why my keys stay in my pocket, at least in theory. 😀
    Have a great weekend CJ; hopefully less exciting.

Whaddayouthink?

