In Which I Am Not Part of Her World

Last week I had to go give ALL THE BLOOD…that may be an exaggeration, but as the phlebotomist filled vial after vial it didn’t feel like an exaggeration.

I digress.

Let’s start in the waiting room of the lab where the BIG SIGN said that appointments took precedence over walk-ins, something the online module had told me when I made my appointment.

There was only one other person in the room at the time, so I figured I would only be there a few minutes, since you know I made an appointment and all.

Why do I always think the world is orderly and things will go according to The Plan?  Because, it almost never does and you know by now I should have figured that out.

Some people never learn, and by ‘some people’ I mean me.

The door to The Back opened, and out came two guys dressed in a uniform just like the one guy still waiting.

“Did it take long?” Guy waiting asked.

“Nah, not too long.” One of guys leaving said.

A few minutes later, another two guys from the same place came out.

This is where I began to catch on.  Some company sent over ALL THE EMPLOYEES for some kind of testing that day.

So much for having an appointment.

And then, this happened…

A pixie-ish elderly lady, with a bright smile and twinkling eyes, came in on the arm of a man about her age whom I assumed was her husband.  They signed in and sat down to wait.

“Why are we here?” asked Pixie

“You’re having blood tests.” Husband answered.

A few minutes went by, in which time every person coming and going from the lab got a cheerful “Good Morning” from Pixie, followed by an equally-cheerful, “How are you?” to anyone who hesitated in front of her.

“Whose house is this?” asked Pixie after a while

“No one’s house, you’re giving some blood.” sighed Husband.

Pixie looked at the television for a few minutes.

“Why are we here?”

“Because. You. Are. Having. Blood. Tests.” Husband said through gritted teeth.

Pixie went back to greeting people as they came in the door.

By this time, I was trying hard not to giggle at Husband’s plight.  I have been there, and done that, and I know it was not so funny when I was living it.  But damned if it wasn’t funny from the outside in.

About then the door to The Back opened, and two more guys came out along with a tech who called Pixie’s name.

Pixie bounced up, and said…”Oh I’m Pixie, but I think there’s been a mistake.” and pointing to her Husband she continued, “He’s the one giving blood today.”

Posted on November 3, 2014, in Guess You Had to Be There, Maybe I'm The Only One Who Thinks This Is Funny and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Whaddayouthink?

