I Heart You Auto-Correct

The other day my son was texting me, gushing on and on about how I’ve helped him recently.

He’s been unemployed for 345 years, and I’ve helped with food, gas, and some minor bills along the way.

He kept telling me what a blessing I was.

It really was sweet.

Then he said he wanted to get in a position to “pay you back…” some day.

Honestly, if he’s been out of work for 345 years already what do you think the chances are that he’ll get a job between now and the revival of “Firefly”? (are you even listening Netflix??)

Yeah, me too.

Anyway, I quickly responded to his text whilst simultaneously doing some work-related task…probably curing cancer, just kidding, when I sent him what I thought was this:

“Don’t worry about it, I want you to just pay it forward some day.”

But actually was this, because Siri knows me all too well:

“Don’t worry about it, I want you to just pay for war some day.”

Because we are all about letting slip the dogs all up in hee-uhh, he didn’t miss a beat when he responded with:

“You bet I will, if the opportunity ever presents itself. BANZAI!”

Boom. (and no, we aren’t Japanese, at least I don’t think we are, but who says only the Japanese warriors can shout “BANZAI”?)

Posted on April 6, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So your son is Connor MacLeod, and he really adopted YOU, way back in the day, and he’s allowed you to grow up thinking you’re HIS mum, and you’ve been supporting him since you were old enough, but really, he’s been unemployed for 345 years? I mean, I imagine “The Only One” isn’t exactly employABLE, so it’s all starting to make sense.

    Except for the “BANZAI” response, but, ya know…

    Siri is one of the many reasons I don’t trust the little “i”.

    • MacLeod was Scottish, son is Irish…and ne’er the twain shall meet. So, I’m going with Delbáeth – a king of the Tuatha Dé Danann, especially since I’m currently listening to The Iron Druid Series, by Kevin Hearne – which I HIGHLY recommend, btw…awesomesauce.

Whaddayouthink?

