Ol’ Dead Eye

When we bought the mini-ranch one of the first things hubby did was stake out an area for a shooting range.  He then put up stacks of hay bales, some wooden pallets, and stapled three targets in a row across the top.

Standing back, about 25 yards..or feet…I don’t know, because math, he proceeded to take the big-ass gun we have (okay ONE of the big-ass guns we have) and plug the bullseye nearly every time.

Handing me another of the BAGs, this one a smoother semi-automatic (the first being a revolver) he told me how to aim and shoot and stepped back.

I proceeded to empty the clip………..into the ground.  By God, if anyone comes near me their feet are in some serious danger!

Every once in a while, patient hubby would take me out to try and teach me how to not shoot an intruder in the foot, thereby simply angering him/her and probably causing me to lose the battle, and each time I shot the ground.  It didn’t seem to matter what size caliber the gun was either.  Hubby had (wrongly) assumed a little “plinker” as he called the .22 we have would make it easier.  Oh but he underestimated my ability to not be able to shoot straight.    Still, he persevered.  Bless him.

The other day, we tried again.  This time with a BAG – the semi-automatic one I’d used on my first outing – and it was like a light bulb going off at my feet.  Suddenly, I “got” it and began hitting the target every time.  I mean, right in and around that bullseye.  Anyone stupid enough to try and hurt me or mine would be in some serious trouble.

Unfortunately, I also became a casualty of the shooting range.  You see, I was wearing ear protection, eye protection, the correct shoes, and a hat.  But, since it was elebenty-hunnert degrees outside I was also wearing a tank top. And, since semi-automatic handguns have shells that eject after shooting, I now have FOUR rather large and painful burns in areas that are…well, sensitive.  Yep, those suckers went straight up and then down the front of my tank top.

On the plus side, anyone coming at me now can feel reasonably certain their feet will survive intact.

Posted on July 17, 2017, in Awesomesauce and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This was a wonderfully funny tale! I wish we had room for a range. Probably for the best that we don’t though. I’d be sorely tempted to “target” some of my neighbors!

  2. I’m just glad your own feet survived the initial assaults! Glad you finally “got it”!

Whaddayouthink?

